Alberta.—The generation and distribution of electric power in Alberta is handled by a combination of several municipally-owned urban systems and three investor-owned companies serving the greater part of the province. The regulatory authority over the investor-owned systems is the Public Utilities Board, which has jurisdiction over the distribution and sale of electricity. The Board, which controls franchises and rates, has power to hold investigation upon complaint either by a municipality or by a utility company, and following such investigation may fix just and reasonable rates. The Alberta Power Commission controls all phases of system development, including the provincial grid system.

Plant additions completed or under way in Alberta during 1962 are outlined at pp. 594-595.

British Columbia.—British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority was created on Mar. 30, 1962 under the provisions of the British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority Act which amalgamated British Columbia Electric Company Limited with British Columbia Power Commission. The new organization provides electric service for most of British Columbia.

21 — Summary Statistics of the British Columbia Hydro and Power Authority

J. Summary Statustics of C		Mar. 31, 1963	Authority,
Item	Amount	Item	Amour

Item	Amount	Item	Amount
Customers (electric) No. Installed plant capacity kw.	459,098 1,865,000	Annual revenue (electric) \$'000	92,457
Pole Miles of Line— Transmission (high voltage). miles Distribution primaries "	3,211 11,393	Capital Investment (plant in operation)— Generation plant\$ Transmission plant\$	417,651,296 144,122,363
Power Requirements— Generated'000 kwh. Purchased"	6,568,000 229,000	Distribution and general plants \$	283,943,027
Total, Power Requirements. '000 kwh.	6,797,000	Total, Capital Investment (plant in operation)\$	845,716,686

Of the Authority's total power requirements of 6,797,000,000 kwh. for the year ended Mar. 31, 1963, 6,209,000,000 kwh. or 91.3 p.c. was produced by hydro-electric plant, 359,000,000 kwh. or 5.3 p.c. was produced by thermal plant and the remainder, amounting to 229,000,000 kwh., was purchased.

Power plant construction in British Columbia in 1962 is outlined at p. 595.

Northwest Territories and Yukon Territory.—The Northern Canada Power Commission, formerly Northwest Territories Power Commission, was created by Act of Parliament in 1948 to bring electric power to points in the Northwest Territories where a need developed and where power could be provided on a self-sustaining basis. By legislation passed in 1950, the Act was extended to include Yukon Territory. The Commission has authority to construct and operate power plants as required in the Territories and, subject to approval of the Governor in Council, in any other parts of Canada.

The Commission has hydro-electric power developments on the Yukon River near Whitehorse, Y.T., the Mayo River near Mayo Landing, Y.T., and the Snare River northwest of Yellowknife, N.W.T. Diesel-electric plants are operated at Fort Simpson, Fort Smith, Fort Resolution, Frobisher Bay and Inuvik, N.W.T., and at Field, B.C.

The Whitehorse Rapids power development, which has been in service since November 1958, supplies the power for the Department of National Defence at Whitehorse, most of the power for the city of Whitehorse, and the power for heating systems of the Department of National Health and Welfare Hospital and two hostels operated by the Department of Citizenship and Immigration.